The Lady Garden

Tea and Strumpets

Walking

Slutwalk. Can we do this every weekend please? Seriously, as we walked up towards Waitangi Park, me and my band of merry men and women, I was awed by the sight.Women, men, roller derby girls, signs, and so many people. I wouldn’t have admitted it at the time, but I was kind of emotional.

Being the shy retiring type that I am, I flitted about, catching up with the many, many people I knew there (I have very good people), and completely neglected to take photos or anything. I barely even had time to tweet.

For a moment, amid much squeeing and girly jumping up and down, all four garden ladies were in one place. Thank you to Emma and Deborah for making the trip, and Coley, who made a brilliant speech, even as she lost her voice. You can read Deborah in the paper, and check out Emma in this week’s Listener. And a huge thank you to MJ and the other organisers – you were brilliant.

We marched with men we respect and love, and it was a brilliant thing to see so many men there, so many people, in fact, and so many media – even if most of the stories I’ve seen talked about “scantily-clad” women – of which there were few, and I admire their bravery in the face of the cold. I was surrounded by a group of friends, but I can only imagine that for some people, that walk, that standing up, that declaration, can only have been incredibly hard. For you, thank you, and you’re amazing.

For Reasons, a lot of people I know saw me walking. The vast majority of them have been incredibly supportive, and understand the point the march was making. But I’ve had one or two comments along the lines of “so it’s OK to call you a slut now?’ and one particularly vile message. And this, my darlings, is why the march was so important, and why now, we have to not shut up.

I missed a lot of the speeches, but what I did hear were emotive, angry, and fed up with this society that teaches “don’t get raped” instead of “don’t rape”. It is an event I will always be proud to have been a part of. And darlings? I looked amaaaaazing.

And so, some of the posts. Feel free to add more in comments.

Slutwalking in Auckland

A very productive day

A review.

And because it wouldn’t be a post from me if I didn’t give you something to rage over, Yahoo Mews completely misses the fucking point. (Go vote no.)

6 responses to “Walking

  1. Pingback: Crevice Canyon » Slutwalkin’

  2. Julie June 27, 2011 at 11:32 am

    Lovely report, as befits your outfit.

    Appalled by the Yahoo poll. Have sent them a sternly worded email feedback thingy as follows:

    Dear Yahoo!
    I’m very very disappointed with the poll you had up yesterday on SlutWalks (“Are women subjecting themselves to rape by how they dress?”). The questions itself was framed not only in a leading manner, but also in a way that continues the unhealthy myth of blaming those who are assaulted for rape. We should be focusing on the behaviour of rapists, not those who are raped, and the point of SlutWalk was to underline that and hopefully shift the cultural discussion. Your poll question was incredibly unhelpful and it concerns me that a decision was made to go with such a biased and untruthful question to increase hits.

    I look forward to feedback from you regarding why you ran that poll question, how the wording was decided on, and what Yahoo!’s policy is around ethical journalism and upholding journalistic standards.

    Regards,
    Julie Fairey

    Others may want to write to them too via this http://nz.docs.yahoo.com/feedback/frontpage.html

  3. coleytangerina June 27, 2011 at 11:42 am

    Agreed. Every day should be SlutWalk day.

    It was SO nice seeing some Garden Ladies for the first time in person, so yay for that! And yeah, my voice is even worse today…but oh wells, I will just have to start my career as a jazz singer!

    x

  4. Deborah June 27, 2011 at 12:21 pm

    It was so much fun walking with such a great group of women. And I was thrilled to see my little cousin Anne (well…. she’s taller than me, but about 24 years younger than me) leading the chants in Civic Square. Go Anne!

    I spoke to a number of people there, including one elderly woman who had come along because she is so angry about rape, and victim blaming. And I saw lots of mums and teenage daughters there – fantastic. It was a great march.

    • Joanna June 27, 2011 at 12:24 pm

      Wish I could have met you! But I was both very hungover and also kind of overwhelmed by it all and the day’s implications for me and everything.

  5. Curvaceous Dee June 27, 2011 at 9:51 pm

    My thoughts and photos from Auckland’s slutwalk are now up on my (generally nsfw) blog here.

    xx Dee

Leave a Reply

