The Lady Garden

Tea and Strumpets

Sharing the love

Things we liked, or didn’t like, from around the web this week.

Land of the free, unless you’re not: Outcry in America as pregnant women who lose babies face murder charges

On not smiling. Also subjecting random hollerers to the Spanish Inquisition.

Going topless in Central Park

And then I was like, well, why the hell not? What’s the point of having toplessness be legal in New York City if you can’t taste of its sweet nectars? Social mores don’t just change overnight; someone has to go first and make it look like fun, and then, with any luck, the rest will follow, and someday it becomes normal, right? In the name of being the change I want to see (as well as anecdotal sociology), I decided to swallow my fears and hang out topless in Central Park Sunday afternoon.

From the WYFC Tumblr, a disturbing quote from Margaret Atwood about women’s worst nightmares.

Election year, and we might want to be influencing our elected representatives about various issues. On Dim-Post, some advice about how to do that, from a parliamentary staffer. (Long story short: write individual letters, not form letters or e-mail.)

Shoes. From the wonderful Dr Isis, who is a research scientist, a mother, a feminist, and loves shoes.

6 responses to “Sharing the love

  1. Curvaceous Dee July 6, 2011 at 8:52 am

    That Central Park post was awesomecakes – and the only one I hadn’t seen.

    Do I remember correctly that toplessness is also legal in NZ?

    xx Dee

    • Emma July 6, 2011 at 10:01 am

      It is indeed, in that nobody’s ever got around to specifically banning it.

      My midwife recommended topless sunbathing when I was pregnant. It was really nice, I should go back to it.

      • Moz July 6, 2011 at 3:02 pm

        Why did they recommend that? Aside from the sheer joy and awesomeness, was there some kind of vaguely sciency-sounding reason?

        • Emma July 6, 2011 at 3:28 pm

          To reduce my nipple sensitivity before starting breast-feeding. I’m actually rather attached to my nipple sensitivity.

          • Moz July 6, 2011 at 3:43 pm

            I’d say “that would suck”, but that doesn’t seem appropriate. Thanks for the tip, though. I might mention that to people I know who particularly like both having sensitive nipple and sunshine.
            I do wonder how resilient that sensitivity is though, as someone I know recovered it quite nicely after deciding the piercings didn’t work for them. But I notice that sensitivity in general decreases with age, which would be a confounding factor.

          • Isabel July 6, 2011 at 4:35 pm

            It’s not actually helpful for breastfeeding (anything that “toughens up” nipples is more likely to damage them and cause more pain) though is probably a good way to get expecting mums to have a little lie down which they probably need.

Leave a Reply

