The Lady Garden

Tea and Strumpets

Sharing the love

Today is Hiroshima Day.

A pretty for our pretties: Sapphire ring ‘belonged to Anglo-Saxon or Viking royalty’

US women finally get cheaper birth control. But of course, why should we, when we’re drunken hussies wasting all our money on designer coffee (Um, actually, guilty -TS)

Thinking more clearly about BDSM vs abuse – another thought provoking post from Clarisse Thorn at Feministe.

When feminism fails me: sex work and feminism. The post contains a jaw-dropper of a quote from Julie Burchill. I (Deb) was appalled by the hate she expressed towards other women, so much so that I didn’t want to believe that someone who calls herself a feminist said it. It’s not even unconscious hate, or the sort of hate that is expressed from a position of ignorance / privilege. It’s just out and out hate. But she did indeed say it, in 1986.

A great post on why Transmisogyny is bad for all women.

I like boys. But also girls. But also boys. Oh yes, I do.

Curious about dental dams? Dee can help. (Link NSFW.)

A beautiful meditation on autonomy and old age, from Zuska: Autonomy is a luxury.

You know what they say about women with big feet…..(So why would we hide that?)

And on that not, because it’s the weekend, here’s Tallulah’s latest covet. To wear on her proudly size 8 feet.

8 responses to “Sharing the love

  1. Scar August 6, 2011 at 12:43 pm

    A cis blog quoting a man quoting a cis woman on transmisogyny?
    Yeah, that’s a wee bit fail.

  2. Moz August 6, 2011 at 12:48 pm

    Has CurvaceousDee ever posted anything that is SFW? I just giggle when I see a link to her blog with (NSFW) next to it because, like, duh. I know it’s necessary because not everyone knows, but it’s still funny.

    • Emma August 6, 2011 at 2:43 pm

      Funny you should say that. I forgot to mark it first time through, just Assuming. As you do. Also possibly the phrase “dental dam” might have been a tipper. But. Yes. Err on the side of caution.

    • Curvaceous Dee August 19, 2011 at 2:27 pm

      I do, very occasionally, post something where I’m clothed. But the site as a whole is definitely nsfw 🙂

      xx Dee

  3. Lucy Stewart August 7, 2011 at 10:39 am

    To put the US birth control deal into context: I have a pretty good health insurance plan over here, and not only am I required to pick up my Pill every four weeks (yes, it’s dispensed on a *month-by-month* basis, something I intend to talk to my doctor about when the prescription is renewed) but it costs nearly $20 a month. I’m lucky, I can afford it (and if something goes wrong, hey, my insurance also covers abortion) but for a lot of women – and somewhat for me, because $200 a year is not an insignificant amount of money – it is, as Joe Biden would say, a Big Fucking Deal.

  4. coleytangerina August 8, 2011 at 9:43 am

    THOSE SHOES! And Tallulah – me too (on the shoes and the hussy) x

Leave a Reply

