The Lady Garden

Tea and Strumpets

Quickie: Lady on Lady

You know what’s awesome? Shaming women for their cankles and hairy legs. Also, “insisting” your “friends” wear more flattering clothing – instead of whatever they damn well please.

Also awesome? This sentence:

I’m afraid there’s no arguing with feminists – believe me, I’ve tried

Hon, people argue with me all the time.

As always, exercise caution over the comments, but at this point, both published comments are along the lines of “WTF, who cares what your friends wear!”

6 responses to “Quickie: Lady on Lady

  1. Hugh March 28, 2012 at 3:42 pm

    Is this post missing a link?

  2. Hugh March 28, 2012 at 3:51 pm

    Ohhhhhh, stuff.co.nz

    I guess I should have known.

  3. Max Rose March 28, 2012 at 3:51 pm

    Whereas the article was seemingly written BY the missing link.

  4. Tamsin March 28, 2012 at 10:34 pm

    Urgh, this article pissed me off so much when I read it in today’s paper. So much yuck. Bonus euurgh for the implication that hairy legs = “feminist” or lazy. Not, say, sensitive skin, or keeping your leg hair because it makes things difficult for mosquitoes, or just liking your body the way it is.
    I remember being teased about my hairy legs and armpits when I was 11 (yay, early puberty). I shave both now because I don’t feel up to arguing with judgemental people about my appearance, but I wish society didn’t demand it of me.

Leave a Reply

