The Lady Garden

Tea and Strumpets

The Morning After

I don’t think there’ll be anyone reading here who doesn’t know that last night, our parliament passed Louisa Wall’s marriage equality bill through its first reading. I say “our parliament” quite deliberately: the margin of the vote was two to one, the same proportion by which it’s supported by the New Zealand public. Our elected representatives represented us: all of us. There is no sane and reasonable way to pretend that what happened wasn’t democratic.

I’ve been openly arguing for this for three years. And I think last night was the best demonstration of why it matters. This is beyond the actual legal rights granted. It’s beyond the people who will, once this becomes law, be able to get married and adopt. Some laws transcend their texts. They’re about who we are, and who we want to be, as a country. This is one. I have never seen so many people saying they are proud of their country as I did last night. We are New Zealand: we believe in equality and justice, and we reject pointless cruelty. Go us.

It’s a long way from over yet, of course. I have select committees to submit to (shush) and letters to write thanking MPs – particularly Paul Hutchison and David Clark, who would have made my mother very proud. But this right now? Is time to take a moment and say, Fuck Yeah! We did a Good Thing.

3 responses to “The Morning After

  1. Tamara August 30, 2012 at 12:15 pm

    Absolutely fantastic!

  2. Deborah August 30, 2012 at 9:08 pm

    I’ve got thank you notes to write too, to my local MP, and to Paul Hutchison and David Clark too. I thought Paul Hutchison was compelling.

    And a submission to write! I think that this ought to be our next tactic, flooding the select committee with submissions in favour of the bill. And helping people to find out how to make a submission on the bill.

Leave a Reply

